Believing in Nothing, Disappointments, Giving Up, Growing Up, Poetry

A Box Full of Disappointments

disappointment

Looking back when I was a kid.

Looking back on the things I did.

Looking back on the childhood dreams.

Looking back on how they flowed like streams.


Reminiscing on what I love to do,

I can’t help but wonder “What happened to me?”.

I was supposed to be happy.

I was supposed to be true.


But in the end I got disdained.

All these years, I’m still in pain.

Missed opportunities lead to grief & woe.

I failed myself ’cause I sold out too.


We said we’d be there together

& none of us would give up.

We said we’d be brothers forever,

But then we needed to grow up.


We were supposed to be different,

We were supposed to be true.

But in the end we were inconsistent

Because we gave up too.


We lose our hope & we go numb.

We divert our attention

In an effort to ease our tension

Because we don’t want to see what we’ve become.


We jeopardize our faith & what we believe in.

‘Til we end up believing in nothing.

We let go of our talent & fantasy.

We gave up who we are to live in reality.

Standard

One thought on “A Box Full of Disappointments

Leave a Reply

