Poetry

Love & Catastrophe

JPEG Pro

They say that time heals.

It can heal any wound or any tear,

Any physical damage or emotional feels.

Time can cure it, as it spins its reels.


But I don’t believe in it, no I don’t.

‘Cause this pain of mine is different,

It struck a pivotal point.

It bashed a part of me that was important.


So sit back & listen,

To the tale I’m about to tell.

An anecdote that glistened,

But didn’t even very well.

A story that’s cliché,

But I still hope you’ll hark & stay.


I was driving down the road

With the treasure of my life.

I can’t recall much while I drove,

But I remember we were arguing that night.


I can’t comprehend how, I can’t grasp why,

But we were expectorating pernicious words,

Just so we could vilify

Each other like vicious wolves.


In the heat of the battle,

I lost focus on what I was doing.

I knew it was wrong to quarrel while driving,

But I was too enthralled by our psychobabble.


The next thing I knew, I lost control.

My tires shrilled & the steering wheel spun.

I tried to maneuver, but I knew we were done.

She was screaming in terror as we tumbled & fall.


It was the last thing I heard

Then what followed was total darkness.

I don’t know how long I lost consciousness,

But I somehow got back to our world.


Something warm engulfed my head.

It was blood, a dark hue of crimson red.

I was light-headed, but I had to find her.

Despite my injury, I needed to descry my lover.


When I found her, I was filled with grief.

I knew right away, her moment would be brief.

I hastened to her side & held her close.

She whispered to my ear, her dying prose.


“I ask of you a favor, a final request.

I am in agony right now,

I think my body wants to rest.

Grant me a final kiss before I die.

Kiss me, & I shall carry on my vow.

I shall be with you, though I bid goodbye.”


So I kissed her, gently & softly.

I kissed her with every drop of intimacy,

& then she faded to the cold abyss,

& with her, she carried our last kiss.

Standard

Leave a Reply

