Chasing Dreams, Poetry

Elusive Dream

Chasing Dreams Doodle by Camden Watts

What is the use of this talent?

What am I here for if I can’t be a poet?

Am I supposed to live my life like a lifeless puppet?

Should I throw away my gift & just dump it?


‘Cause I’ve seen other people make their dreams come true.

I’ve seen them do amazing things, they thought they couldn’t do.

I’ve seen them reach the heights of their success.

I’ve seen how they’ve conquered obstacles & rise above the rest.


I see people coming from the bottom & then rise.

I see them flying high above the ground

While I see myself drowning in demise.

I see them turn everything around.


I ask myself: What am I doing wrong?

Is this path not where I belong?

Is my talent weak & is it not that strong?

Will my turn on the spotlight ever come along?


I see other people getting recognitions.

I see them living out their sweet ambitions.

I see people supporting them for what they do.

Now, will that ever happen to me too?


I’m loyal & true to my chosen craft.

Hell, I honestly even think it chose me to be on the draft.

‘Cause I can get other hobbies & excel at other things.

But being a renowned poet has always been my dream.


I don’t want to be remembered as an “Employee of the Month.”

I don’t want to be remembered as a simple grunt.

I just want to be remembered as a poet who touched people’s lives.

I just want to mend people’s heart & make them feel alive.


I just want to make people feel that someone understands them.

I just want them to read what I’ve written

In the hopes that they’ll say “I can totally relate to what he’s saying.”

I just want to communicate & touch their hearts from within.


So, when will my time come along?

I hope it wouldn’t be that long.

I hope it’ll be my turn to step forward.

I hope I’ll be the next in line.

‘Cause I no longer plan on walking backwards.

Maybe my ambitions will be realized in due time,

But I’ll aim to make it come true with every single rhyme.

Standard

Leave a Reply

