Halloween, horror themed poetry, Poetry, scary poem

A Sea of Faces

pareidolia_face

Have you ever heard of pareidolia?
It’s a weird phenomenon where you see faces
On inanimate objects like electrical sockets.
I think of it as a visual paranoia.


Why? Because for some people,
It only happens on rare ocassions.
But for me, it makes me tremble.
Because I see faces on every object I can mention.


For some, the images are funny.
For others, the faces are hilarious.
But for me, the images are creepy.
What’s worse, the faces are hideous.


The faces I see appears to be real.
It’s like they can hear and feel.
They might simply be illusions,
But I still have a feeling that they’re more than hallucinations.


Right now, I’m staring at the ceiling.
I can see a face that’s simply staring.
No, I think the face is actually glaring,
It’s as if it wants to do something,
I can tell by the way it is sadistically smiling.


You know what, I think I’m going crazy.
In pareidolia, the faces you see
Are supposed to be fixated, but for me,
The faces are moving and they’re grinning at me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

