Halloween, horror themed poetry, Poetry, scary poem

Alone but Never Lonely

will_graham_the_monsters_in_my_head_by_clarebohning-d6rf9hd

When I’m alone, I talk to myself.
I make it a habit to do so because it helps.
Helps to ease the pain of loneliness.
To ease the pain of sadness.


When I’m alone, I talk to myself.
But lately, there’s been a voice coming from the bookshelf.
I went and checked and there it was.
A creature, though I wasn’t sure what it was.


It had eyes that were so black it didn’t feel right.
It had a skin that glowed without any light.
It spoke to me and what it said gave me a fright,
“I will now be with you every night.”


When I’m alone, I used to talk to myself.
But now I have a friend who came from the bookshelf,
Who talks to me,
When there are no lights.

Standard

Leave a Reply

