honesty, Poetry

Wandering Eyes

wandering_eyes_by_moonshine586-d31fpaj

I wish I had the strength
To do such extreme lengths.
Like gouging my eyes out,
Until all its perversions are spat out.


I wish I didn’t get to see,
Elegance, magnificence and beauty.
A blind man is what I’d rather be.
Than to live a life with lecherous visuality.


You see, I am unfair to others
And ultimately to myself.
My head turns from one place to another.
It’s a trait that I wish I could throw away some place else.


Even though I know that scientifically,
I have been wired genetically
To scour the land for a suitable mate,
I still wish I didn’t have this feeling that’s innate.


See, it hurts me more than anyone else.
It makes me cringe, making me look down on myself.
Because I see beauties that’ll never be mine.
Because my eyes should only be for the person whose mine.


I’ve tried and tried.
I’ve lost count at how many times I tried.
Unfortunately, it’s something I just can’t prevent.
Believe me, I wish I could stop it and that’s my full intent.


But I just can’t, that’s why I resorted
To plucking out my eyes.
It may be crazy and stupid,
But I know that it’s better than telling lies.


Though I know these feelings are fleeting at best,
I still don’t want to be like the rest.
That’s why I’ll make a change, I’ll talk to myself and suggest:
Try looking at their hearts instead of their butts, face and breast.

Standard

Leave a Reply

