Broken Hearted, dogs, losing a pet, pets, poem, Poetry

Goodbye My Faithful Companion

You were the one who welcomed me home.
You were the one who soothed my weary bones.
You were the reason why I called this place my own.
But it was your time to pass away alone.

You were the one who made me laugh.
You were the one who made me happy, even though I was sad.
You sailed happily with me in a not so stable raft.
But it was time for you to go and leave what you had.

Your tail was as strong as your spirit and it would wag in delight.
You would sleep beside me, though there were no lights.
You made everyone happy by being funny and full of sprite.
But it was finally your time to take flight.

You were the most loyal companion I have ever had.
You taught me how to love, especially when things went bad.
You would want to play with me in times that I’m mad.
But it was time for you to leave, a reality that’s quite sad.

So now I say to you the simplest truth in my heart.
I didn’t want for both of us to part.
But I have to let you go and move on.
But I will keep your memory alive as I carry on.

Standard

Leave a Reply

